Published date: 27 July 2012

The National Archives is working with the Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO) to transfer and begin releasing colonial administration records, referred to as the ‘migrated archives’ between April 2012 and November 2013, in accordance with the published timeline on the FCO website. The collection will form record series FCO 141: Foreign and Commonwealth Office and predecessors: Records of Former Colonial Administrations: Migrated Archives. The records cover a wide range of subject matter relating to colonial administration. The material reflects events in the territories generally pre-independence and Her Majesty’s Government’s views at the time.

This release contains records from Basutoland, the Cameroons, Ceylon, Cyprus, Fiji, the Gambia, Gilbert and Ellice Islands, and Gold Coast.

Following the release of the second tranche of records on 27 July, Principal Records Specialist Dr Edward Hampshire discusses the origins of the ‘migrated archives’ and explains how to get the most out of your research.

Guide to the second tranche of records (PDF, 0.35Mb)

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
Loading ... Loading ...
  1. 25 January 2013
    12:12 pm

    Eminoni Ranacou

    Just came across this website and would like to thank the UK Govt for making these archival records available to the public.

    Have not gone through them but must try to browse through the Fiji files first for information on my country… only 20 files on Fiji.

    Thank you very much

Leave a comment